Menu mobile
  • Christophe Bigot

    Christophe Bigot

    Biography

    Since 1990, when he was admitted to the Paris bar, Christophe Bigot has developed a practice mainly focused on media law and litigation.

    He represents major media groups and publishing houses as well as some of the main Internet players, companies and famous individuals disagreeing with the content of newspapers, websites or other posts. He deals with a variety of issues regarding media litigation involving questions regarding labor law, the operations of local authorities, electoral rules etc. He is often called upon by other lawyers who wish to benefit from his expertise on technical issues for various trials. 

    Moreover, he counsels publishing houses and their professional organizations regarding their contracts or issues related to information law, rights of publicity, and intellectual property law. He has long developed a practice in advising preemptively the companies with regard to books manuscripts, press articles, and TV shows.

    Is also highly recognized for his practice in advertising field, he notably counsels agencies, advertisers and display advertising sellers.

    Publications

    Besides his legal practice in his firm, Christophe Bigot has written numerous publications in the field of communication law.

    He is notably the author of four books regarding Press law, Advertising law, Privacy law and the right of publicity. He is also one of the writers involved in the drafting of one the main reference publications in Media and communication law (“Droit des medias et de la communication, LAMY) as well as the author of several articles in the jurisclasseur (French legal encyclopedia) dedicated to the study of Press and advertising law.

    Finally, he is the author of many articles in different legal reviews and is in charge of two sections summing up the main changes and news in the information law world.

    Complementary activity

    Christophe Bigot is a member of the Legicom and Legipresse editorial committee. Those reviews are specialized in Communication law. 

    He was the French speaker for the International Association of Lawyers (UIA) on Press law from 1995 to 1999. He was then in charge of the Press Law Open Commission for the Paris bar from 2006 to 2009. He is also the vice-president of the Press Law lawyers Society and a member of the jury for the Varenne foundation Media law thesis price.

    Finally he teaches professionals at the ENM (French school for magistrates and judges) in the field of Press law and Cyberlaw. He is also in charge of the Tort and criminal law in the Media world, class for the students of the ‘Communication law’ Master at the University Paris II – Panthéon-Assas.

    « Back



Contact information :

Assistante(s) :

  • Valerie Staelens : valerie.staelens@mediavocats.net

Menu mobile
  • Christophe Bigot

    Christophe Bigot

    Biographie

    Depuis 1990, date de son admission au Barreau de PARIS, Christophe BIGOT développe une activité entièrement consacrée au droit des médias, à forte dominante contentieuse.

    Il défend des groupes de presse et d’édition de premier plan, des acteurs majeurs de l’internet, ainsi que des sociétés ou personnalités mises en cause dans les médias ou sur les reseaux sociaux. Il intervient également sur les aspects de droit de la presse qui surgissent à l’occasion de conflits les plus divers, dans le cadre des relations du travail, du fonctionnement d’une collectivité locale, des scrutins électroraux ou autres. Il intervient fréquemment en support d’autres avocats qui souhaitent bénéficier de son assistance à l’occasion de ces contentieux requérant une technicité particulière.

    En outre, il conseille les éditeurs et leurs organisations professionnelles, tant en ce qui concerne les contenus que les contrats, sur les questions de droit de l’information, de droit de l’image et de propriété intellectuelle. Il a developpé à ce titre une pratique ancienne et très soutenue dans le domaine des consultations préventives concernant les manuscrits d’ouvrages, les articles de presse, et les émissions de télévision.

    Il est également reconnu pour sa pratique du droit de la publicité, domaine dans lequel il conseille agences, supports et annonceurs.

    Publications

    Parallèlement, à son activité d’avocat, Christophe Bigot est l’auteur de nombreuses publications dans le domaine du droit de la communication.

    Il est notamment l’auteur de quatre ouvrages, couvrant le droit de la presse, le droit de la publicité, et la protection de la vie privée et du droit à l’image. ll est également l’un des rédacteurs du LAMY "Droit des médias et de la communication" et l’auteur de plusieurs fascicules du jurisclasseur consacrés au droit de la presse ou au droit de la publicité.
    Enfin, il a publié de nombreux articles dans différentes revues et est responsable de deux rubriques annuelles de suivi de l’actualité judiciaire dans le domaine du droit de l’information, au sein de revues de référence.

    Activités complémentaires

    Christophe Bigot est membre des comités éditoriaux des revues Légicom et Légipresse, dédiées au droit de la communication.
    Après avoir été rapporteur français de la section droit de la presse de l’Union Internationale des Avocats de 1995 à 1999, Christophe BIGOT a été responsable de la commission ouverte du droit de la presse du barreau de Paris de 2006 à 2009.

    Il est également Vice-Président de l’Association des Avocats Praticiens du droit de la presse et membre du jury du prix de thèse de la fondation Varenne dans la catégorie droit des médias.
    Enfin, il intervient régulièrement dans les sessions de formation continue organisées par l’Ecole Nationale de la Magistrature (E.N.M.) dans le domaine du droit de la presse et du droit de l’internet, et assure un enseignement annuel consacré à « la responsabilité civile et pénale des médias » au sein du Master 2 « Droit de la communication » de l’Unversité Paris II - Panthéon-Assas.

    « Retour



Coordonnées :

Assistante(s) :

  • Valerie Staelens : valerie.staelens@mediavocats.net